Gallery

Wk 5- Art Experience- Cuisine, Couture, or Coiffure

For this week’s art experience we had the opportunity to choose between cuisine, couture or coiffure. I chose to do cuisine simply because I love food! I found inspiration for this idea from a video that I found on youtube. First, I cut a grapefruit in half (thank you to my neighbors tree for supplying the grapefruit) because I thought the different pinkish color on the inside would be a nice contrast from the yellow on the outside. Next,I cut small slits all around the grapefruit and then I made each of the slits into small triangles to imitate the petals of a flower. Then, I sliced the peel off enough for a layered petal effect. Lastly, I added three blueberries to the center and three grapes on the sides to act as leaves.

I found this art experience to be extremely enjoyable but also a bit dangerous because I almost had a few slip ups with the knife. First, I attempted making the flower out of an orange but it was too small and the juice was squirting everywhere. Then, I thought to use a grapefruit because they are bigger and have a pretty inside. I like the simplicity of the flowers on a white plate because it is cleanly presented. Also, the cutely cut grapefruit tasted delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

